Alex Fraiser Interview: World’s Most Successful 16-Year-Old Blogger

 

Interview: Alex Fraiser, World's Most Successful 16-Year-Old Blogger

In January 2009, at the age of 15, Alex Fraiser used his web design know-how to start Blogussion.com, a blog about blogging. As the year went on, Blogussion thrived – bursting not just with insightful articles but also with an ever-growing, increasingly enthusiastic community of subscribers.

In January 2010, Alex and his business partner, 24-year-old Seth Waite, launched their first product – a web theme modeled after Blogussion’s unique style – to immediate success. With an Alexa ranking under 20,000, Blogussion is now the highest ranking blog by a 16-year-old on the Internet.

When Alex isn’t helping people around the world make their blogs as popular and profitable as possible, he’s just a normal high school junior in New Jersey. He lives with his family and enjoys camping, playing ping-pong, and cheering on the New England Patriots.

 

The following is a short excerpt from 50 Interviews: Young Entrepreneurs (Volume 1).

Q: What drove you above and beyond, towards entrepreneurship?

A: My dad is what really inspired me to start [Blogussion.com] up. He lives in Florida and owns two seafood restaurants. Obviously, blogging and owning a restaurant are two very different things, but the fact that he’s his own boss really inspired me to go out and do it myself.

When you think of a teenager nowadays, you think of some lazy kid who has no direction in life. I don’t want to be like that. I like to look deeper into things and I can’t stand just sitting around. I like the idea of working hard now, so you can earn big later. I’ve worked in my dad’s restaurants before, so I know what that’s like. Manual labor sucks, dude.

Q: How do you balance your business with other priorities?

A: School has to go first. I’ve always been taught that if you don’t succeed in school, then you’re not going to succeed in life. But [given the success of Blogussion.com], sometimes I think that maybe school’s not what I should be focusing on the most.

I’ll be honest – I was so eager to develop my theme that I might have missed out on a couple of homework assignments. But if I want to keep my business going, I’ve got to do well in school. It’s as simple as that. I love high school. I’m not about to drop out.

I’ve definitely been trying to balance my schoolwork and my freelancing stuff. For instance, we have all these mid-term projects for school right now. It has been crazy. But with useful productivity tips I’ve learned from blogging, I can manage all these different projects at once.

Q: Anything else you would like to add?

A: If you want to learn more about me, check out Blogussion.com. It’s built around my personality and my thoughts and it also has some crazy-awesome content. There’s also a contact forum if you ever want to chat. I also have a more personal blog, Asnio.com.

This is an abridged version from Alex’s interview in our latest project, 50 Interviews: Young Entrepreneurs. Alex and his blog have inspired me more than any other person or site on the Internet. In fact, if I didn’t come across his site, you’d still be looking at my crappy, old design. His interview is saturated with insight on the blogging world and it provides a detailed account of what it’s like to be a successful, internet entrepreneur.

Alex Fraiser’s Top Quotes

“Manual labor sucks, dude.”

“I like the idea of working hard now, so you can earn big later.”

 

Leave a Reply

