Five Ways to Fall Madly In Love with Your Body

P1030887_re-size

Editor’s note: This is a guest post by Elizabeth Casey. She is a freelance writer and she would love to interact with you in the comment box below.

Do you love and accept your body or do you criticize it for various perceived flaws and shortcomings? Be honest. If you’re like most people in western culture, your body is not something you are ravishingly in love with, nor have you ever considered the idea of being in love with your body. You more than likely wish that your body was different, whether thinner, younger, heavier, more fit, whatever. Maybe, you simply dislike a particular body part and wish it could change. Don’t worry, you’re not alone. Many, people dislike or even hate their bodies. I argue that this body-disdain is deeply harming humanity. This adversarial relationship that so many of us have with our bodies is keeping us from our fullest potential as human beings; it means that we are fractured. Our thoughts and obsessions about our bodies keep us from living fully and deeply. This needs to change.

The following are five tips for falling madly in love with your body. These tactics have worked wonderfully for me; I’m happy to say that I truly, deeply, and madly love my body now after years of dominating, controlling, criticizing, and trying to change her.

Tip#1: Pick One Thing You Like about Your Body and Concentrate on That

One day, in my late teens, I was crying to my dad about how fat I was and he suggested that I pick one thing that I liked about my body and concentrate on that one aspect. Really, the only thing that I liked about my physique was my intensely muscular arms. I was a strong, farm-girl with very toned arms, so I told him that. He told me to sit down and look at my arms and say nice things to them for at least five minutes per day. I felt rather foolish doing this, but after a daily practice of this for 30 days, you know what? It worked! I began to look forward to my sessions and I started finding other things that I then appreciated about my body. I began telling my body sweet things about all kinds of her aspects. The process began to feed itself. I started feeling better. And, I began to think differently, too.

Tip#2: Write Down What You Wish Your Body Looked Like

Write down all of the qualities that you want for your body. Make a list of everything that you want your body to look like or to be able to do. Try to be realistic. If you are five feet, five inches tall, imagining yourself as six feet tall will probably not feel very attainable. These qualities work best if they are things that you believe you can attain. For example, maybe you want healthier hair, greater fitness, or a smaller waist. Write it all down and then read back through your list several times. As you read, try to get a clear mental image of what you want to look like according to the qualities that listed. The more you can visualize and the more detail you can imbue your sessions with, the greater your chances of attaining what you want, eventually. The mind is an incredibly powerful tool that heavily influences the way our bodies look. By focusing deeply on a vision of how you want things to be, you are “programming” your subconscious to accept a new reality and to eventually bring that reality about. The results are astounding. Do these as often throughout the week as you can and watch for the results.

Tip#3: Talk with Your Body

Yes, you read that correctly. Talk with your body not at it. Have a conversation with your form. I start at the top of my head and work my way down. I’ll say things like: “Hello, hair! How are you feeling today?” And, then, I wait for an answer. At first, it was very hard to train my mind to wait for my body’s answers, but it got much easier with practice. Now, I always hear an answer in my mind when I ask my body how she’s doing. This practice trains you to consult with your body and ask its opinions about the decisions that you are making on its behalf. It trains you to consider your body as a part of you, but a consciousness in and of itself, which leads to greater awareness about your body and its needs. Your body will talk to you. It’s just that most of us are not trained to have a practice like this with ourselves. I grew to adore my question and answer sessions. My body is a real talker and I listen!

Tip#4: Practice Deep Belly Breathing

Did you know that a practice of diaphragmatic breathing helps our bodies tremendously? Also known as deep-belly breathing and abdominal breathing, it’s one of the quickest and easiest ways to connect with your body and feel its majesty. It’s also a tremendous boon to your health. Just adding in diaphragmatic breathing can lower blood pressure, reduce stress, increase blood flow to your vital organs, improve memory, and amazingly, make you like your body more. When we feel better, we appreciate more and when we are healthier, it’s easier to feel better about our bodies.

Tip#5: Tell Your Body Five Remarkable Things It Lets You Do

This one is not always easy for people, especially people who are used to constantly criticizing their bodies, but it’s really, really fun. Tell your body five things that it lets you do that you enjoy doing. For example, you might say: I like that you, my dear body, make it possible for me to ride a motorcycle. I really like that you help me feel deeply and cherish my loved-ones. I love that you make it possible for me to walk up stairs and get around. I like that you, dear body, let me hug my children and feel them in my arms. I like that you offer a house for my soul to be here on the earth plane to experience so much. This practice, again, puts you into a mood of appreciation and reverence. It helps you see all of the things that your body does for you, often without complaint, and reminds you that things are not as bad as they often seem.

If we do not love the self, the full self, which includes the body in all of its permutations, how can we ever truly love and accept others? How can we appreciate other life forms or expect to walk softly on the planet? How can we revere the magic, sacred dance of life in a state of near-constant self-hatred, criticism, or disdain? Ultimately, we can’t. We cannot expect to truly, abidingly love others or respect all of life until we learn to love and embrace our emotions, our thoughts, and our bodies that allow us to do so much here on the earth plane. Unless we learn how to foster a deep, lasting love for the body, we cannot truly accept our lives or heal the emotional rifts inside of us. Falling madly in love with your body takes a conscious, dedicated practice, but when you do get there, when you step into that sweet place with yourself it is simply the greatest feeling in the world. Your life improves. And, you feel happier. This is what the body teaches us and the gift that it holds for us.

All my love and light to you each and every one of you.

BigLizzy

Over to you…..

Do you agree with Lizzy’s concept? Or do you think there are other things she could have added that she didn’t? And are there any additional steps we can take to love and make our body respond to us when we talk to her?

As ever, I’d love to hear from you. If you have anything you’d like to add, please leave a comment below. And don’t forget to share this post, if you think your friends and followers would enjoy it :)

Liz_Casey

Liz Casey is a freelance writer, size-acceptance activist, self-esteem promoter, and lover of the dialog between the  body and consciousness. Professionally, she’s a Senior Technical Writer and operates a Motorcycle Touring Company for   women in Sedona, AZ, where she lives with her husband and best friend of 19 years, two delicious cats, an equally delicious purple and orange Harley-Davidson Street Glide, and about 1000 books. You can connect with her on Facebook, Or read her Blog BigBodyBeautiful Or perhaps Hire by visiting LizCasey.com appointment with her.

57 thoughts on “Five Ways to Fall Madly In Love with Your Body”

  1. Sam, Thank you so much for inviting me to submit a guest post. It looks great. As always, I love how you are helping others through your blog and reaching people’s hearts and souls. It’s an honor to be here, sir. Warm regards, BigLizzy

    1. Hey Rutabaga,

      Thanks so much friend for coming by, commenting and for even reblogging. I’m really grateful. I hope u find the rest of my post interesting.

      Do have a wonderful day ahead!

      Sam

      1. Seriously? Please do share this post with your noble friends and be sure to tweet it too. I’d love for you to take a look at some of the post on here and see if you liked’em. Thanks.

        Cheers!
        Sam

  2. I may need to copy this onto my phone for constant reference. The steps here are very similar to the ones I have been given by my therapist in dealing with my eating disorder and related body issues. I just need to actually do these things instead of putting it off, thinking it is useless.

    Thank you so much for sharing this!

    1. Hey Sortaginger,

      You are free to copy and yeah lizzy is a guru in matters such as this. U can even head over to her blog on add on FB, she’d love to help.

      Thanks for stopping by and dropping your two cent comment. Glad you liked it. And pls do explore to see some other fantastic posts.

      Do have a lovely week ahead:)

      Sam

    2. sortaginger! Thank you so much for stopping by, reading, and commenting here, doll. I like that you are thinking of copying this to your phone; it’s a great idea. I have love-notes to myself pasted all over the house. I put some on my mirrors and on my computer. I say things like: “You are a beautiful and capable woman. You are stunning because you let love prevail. You are here to spread love and look at how wonderful that looks on our body.” I give myself encouragement all-day, every day. It’s simply the fastest way for me to feel better about whatever is going on in my life. Every time I pass a mirror, I tell a body part how much I love her. I stop, grab the body part and just pour love from my heart into the area. It is the BEST FEELING in the world. Please feel free to come over to the blog and play with all of us any time you want to, honey. You are always welcome!

  3. What an excellent post! Great advice! Much like Sortaginger, it would be phenomenal if I could actually put the time in to put them into practice. Thanks for sharing this.
    I got here through El Guapo, but will share it as well on mine and through FB and Twitter. Seriously good stuff!
    Thanks, again.
    -BettyRants

    1. BettyRants, thank you so much for stopping by, reading, and leaving your warm comments here, honey. Eventually, we’ll get this message to spread and help lots of people. I appreciate your energy and efforts in this “good fight”, sister.

      1. We will, Lizzie! I battled an eating disorder actively for years, so that little voice is always there, thankfully far away and tiny now. As I embark on a new teaching assignment this year with middle school girls, I’d love to share this with them. If we can get to them at that age, maybe we can prevent all of the self loathing that happens to so many.
        Thanks again for sharing this!
        (I love my eyes that let me see and read words of inspiration from new friends.)

        Peace & light,
        -BettyRants

  4. BigLizzy I love this and I love your philosophy. We need to be kinder to ourselves and love the skin we are in. I’m going to start talking to my beautiful body more! Thanks

    1. Awwww…Daile-babe! You are my peeps, sis. You are in my family now, and together we can do anything. I so love the image of you speaking sweetly with you body and can see her wagging her tail like a happy puppy in response! What a great practice and thank you for taking my words in and deciding to try some things. You know I love you so much for your open, sweet, and big heart! Big, warm hugs to you, my friend!

  5. I absolutely agree with everything Liz wrote. “If we do not love the self, the full self, which includes the body in all of its permutations, how can we ever truly love and accept others?” And that is what most people don’t truly and completely understand. I especially like your five tips. I am going to do #5, for sure. From time to time, I think about my body and what amazing things it can do, like give birth to my son.

    Love that when you were complaining about your body, your Dad got you to appreciate it. My Dad had my mother take me to a diet doctor. And I was maybe 5-10 lbs overweight at most (at 15 yrs. old).

    Fabulous post!!

    1. Liz, I realised your photo is here, and I had to look twice because you could be my cousin or something. Very similar hair, similar brown eyes, but different glasses frames (although I love purple). Maybe I’m just recognizing a soul sister. What a trip.

      1. Awww…very cool! I seriously have chills right now from what you wrote, sweetie. We so ARE SOUL-SISTERS! I can feel it. I love this. That author photo of me was from 2010 and since then, my hair has gone completely silver. It’s crazy. I’m only 47 and completely grey, but that’s the gig in my family: fat and grey. LOLOLOL! By the way, I am with you. I love purple. Purple, fucshia, and orange are actually my favorite colors. Hugs to you, my true sister.

      2. Two summers ago, I stopped coloring my hair. Partly because it’s such a pain the ass, and partly because at the time I was changing a lot, and felt more authentic with it the natural color it wanted to be. So, today, I am totally, completely, a silver fox as well!

    2. Mariner-mama, What sweet comments you left here, honey-bunny. Thank you for reading and commenting. You always leave such nice love-notes. 🙂 Yes, it was very surprising that my dad was the one who helped me with this, but you see, it makes sense. He weighed close to 300 lbs. at the time. My aunts were all over 400 pounds and, well, the family affliction was such that none of us could really do a thing about it. We had no choice but to make peace with being large. I came from a family of HUGE northern European people. It makes me so sad that your parents took you to diet doctors instead of teaching you to be healthy whatever your size, but you know my opinions on all of that and my opinions on the failings of our parents. I do know this: you are a beautiful woman. You are gorgeous inside and out. I can say this with all certainty, for, I have grown to know you through your words and work and your beauty just pours out of you in all directions. You grace my life, deeply. XOXO

  6. Liz, my love, I see you put this into practice daily. You truly love who you are, the amazing body you love and appreciate. It shows in everything you do, every interaction you have with your friends and the people around you. Your love and beauty shines through because you have learned to first love yourself. You can’t share love when you don’t know what love is. The love you have developed for your body translates in every lovely ounce of your being. You shine! You bring that sunshine to my life. I love you, My Friend. You inspire me!

    1. Becki-babe! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful thoughts here, my dear, darling friend and sister. Knowing you, riding our Harley-Ds together, breathing the same pine-scented air of Flagstaff together, and holding each other’s hearts during these past two years have meant so, so much to me. You are all of these things that you mention here, honey. I’m merely a reflection of your own light, your own beauty, your own love. You could not see it in me if it were not already a part of you and how you express here on earth. So, I accept your wonderful words inside of me because I know that they are true and I also know that they are a reflection of you and how I feel about you. It feels best to love whatever the object of that love. Choosing love over anything else is our core purpose here on earth, in these glorious bodies and you get that. I love you so much, Becki-mama and am equally inspired by you. XOXO

  7. Lizzy –

    You are quickly becoming one of my blogger heroes. I will add the 5 practices you’ve listed here, along with my efforts to eradicate any and all negative self-talk, to my daily routine. I figure that if I can make time to play Words With Friends and cruise facebook, I can certainly make time to reconnect with myself 🙂

    Thanks again!
    Linda

    1. Linda!!! How sweet of you to say this, darling. Thank you for reading and commenting. I can so see you doing the practices and giving yourself a nice boost every day and it makes me smile so huge inside. You raise a very good point: if we have the time to “play” in other ways, we have the time to dialog with our bodies and shine the light of consciousness on this issue. It’s about priorities. For me, I got so sick of feeling bad. I decided that I wanted to feel good. I asked myself, “Well, how can I feel better?” and then it hit me. LOVE. Use any and all opportunities to love and anything less than that was beneath me. I started with the body first because it was the closest to me and one of the biggest sources of discontent and pain in my life. When I started a regular practice of love, my whole life, my whole being shifted. So, the whole motivation was to feel better and then that led to all kinds of other cool experiences and opportunities. You get it, mama. Thank you again for your energy and help with this. The work that you do with yourself makes it better for the entire human race. You are to be commended for it. XOXO

    1. FatBottom-baby!! I just smiled from ear-to-ear over this. What a perfect image. What fun we will have together, my sweet friend. We’ll be riding our motorcycles all over and sticking our gorgeous rumps out at the world. HA! Look out, planet earth. When FatBottom and BigLizzy get together the world will shift on its axis. Hahahaha! I love you so much, honey. Can’t wait!

    1. Becky!! Thank you so much for leaving your kind comments here, my friend. I LOVED your post on the epic fail of an eating disorder. I was shouting in my room while reading this piece and jumping up and down. You so nailed it, honey and you did so with wit, feeling, intelligence, and heart. You are such an awesome writer, which you know I love and respect. Appreciate the work you are doing to help others, Becky and can’t wait to explore your blog in greater depth. All my love and light to you, sister.

  8. I agree 10,000% with it, especially #5. The moment I started thinking about what my body can be instead of what it can’t be, I started loving it. It’s pretty amazing when I think about it.

    1. Jen! Number 5 is for you then! Love that you are getting something useful out of this post, honey. And, as always, thank you for reading and sharing, sweetie. XOXO

    1. Hey Friend,

      You should start practising more of this and to benefit more I think you consider visiting Lizzy’s Blog to learn more tips. However, I’m glad you stopped by, liked and comment here.

      Thanks and have a rosy day ahead 🙂
      Sam

    2. Persephone-babe, I LOVE to hear this, my friend. Our bodies want our approval and when we give them that, so many cool things open up for us and so much love flows to us. Every time we tell ourselves “Good job!” or “I love you!”, the universe claps and shouts in glee. Keep up the good work, my friend. You know that I love you, but the entire universe does, too. XOXO

  9. WOW Lizzy really excellent. I don’t like to comment everytime but i’m doing it now because your article really made me think something that i used to ignore.
    Thanks again lizzy and also sam (admin of the site.)
    Excepting more posts like this from you in the future.

    1. Hey Sumanth,

      Glad you found your way here and thanks for deciding to comment. I really appreciate bro.

      Speaking bout Lizzy, she’s of course the best best in the world of writing. You can always contact via the links on her bio at the top and she’d be glad to answer your queries.

      Am always open to working with you any day and any time. You know that don’t you?

      Cheers!
      Sam

    2. Sumanth! Thank you so much for reading and commenting, my new friend. So glad that this post inspired you and gave you a new way to look at the topic. It’s so nice to know that we can affect a lasting change in our viewpoints and that we are powerful creators here. Our bodies are so vital to our expansion as souls. Thanks again for your wonderful comments. You made my day. 🙂

    1. Kimberly, Thank you sooooo much for the props here, sis. Oh, and thanks for re-blogging this post and following me on BigBodyBeautiful! I can’t wait to explore your site, too. Over 40 and Killing it? OMG, best name ever. I can already tell that YOU are so AWESOME! Big, warm hugs to you!

      1. THANK YOU THANK YOU…and YOU’RE SO WELCOME…I love you blog so expect some more reblogging most definitely!!!!!

        Same here, I can’t wait to go through more of your post….I’m looking forward to reading them! More hugs back to you and keep on killing it!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

